TEKKA review

A board designated for full, article-length reviews of webcomics, local or foreign.
Forum rules
How things work around here:

1) Webcomics get nominated for review in the Nominations for Review forum.
    2) People pick a webcomic to review and commit to writing an article-quality review of the comic by posting in its nomination thread.
    3) When complete, the review gets posted here, in the main forum.

TEKKA review

Postby Proxy170 » March 8th, 2014, 9:40 pm

I am fairly new to comics myself, but hopefully I can provide some third party perspective that can help you! I split the critique up into two parts, Art and Story.

Art:

Overall, the art is a bit messy but the colors really pop. Your pages are large, so I have to scroll around to see the whole page, and I just happen to be someone who likes to see the page as a whole without having to scroll around. I think it helps to think of a comic page as a whole unit, not just look at each frame as a picture, because your reader will want to take in the whole page (how you paneled it). Your lineart varies in thickness which is good, but it doesn't have any tapering between thicknesses, which then results in a messy look and doesn't give you the depth that varied line weight is intended to give. This also goes for your coloring/shading, which doesn't have tapering either so again, it comes out as sloppy. This is particularly noticeably on page 9, where the "energy" on the men looks more like scribble, because there is no variation in opacity or tapering. Page 9 also has some paneling issues, which you make even more noticeable by adding green arrows to guide the reader. Paneling is tricky, but if well executed it can make comic reading fun and not a chore. Your eyes will naturally flow left to right, top to bottom to try to pre-plan panels that way. Think of it as a zig zagging waterfall flowing down the page, and then you won't have to worry about your readers getting lost.