I don't enjoy making art anymore. I feel so empty.

A board designated for discussion of personal issues.
Forum rules
Due to the often sensitive nature of the discussions occurring in Life Issues, we ask that you be particularly considerate and respectful toward posters here. Violation of this request will be considered a violation of the rules.

I don't enjoy making art anymore. I feel so empty.

Postby Queerious Toast » January 4th, 2015, 8:34 am

It's been forever since my last post here.

I'm in my 3rd year of Uni. I took up Fine Arts.

I hate making art now. Every piece of artwork I've made in the last 3 years was only for school. I hated every minute of making it. I don't know what happened... I used to look forward to drawing everyday and practicing. I had so many illustration ideas. Now I have to think so hard just to make a decent illustration.

My grades were high, but I got removed from the Dean's List last sem.

I'm just so burned out. I don't know what to do anymore. I now hate the only thing I love to do.

How do I get out of this rut?
mosama wrote:Did I give you permission to bring my thread back from the dead with your flop ass autistic 5 year old doodle?
Queerious Toast

Re: I don't enjoy making art anymore. I feel so empty.

Postby eishiya » January 4th, 2015, 9:59 am

Doing art for specific assignments (work or school) will tend to do that.

It's possible to get over, but of course there are as many ways to get out of it as there are artists. Some suggestions:
- Try photography or sculpture if you're not also tired of these. They'll keep your art-sense sharp, but they feel quite different from drawing/painting.
- Take a break from any "involved" art, but keep a sketchpad close and doodle when you feel like it. If you never feel like doodling, that's fine too.
- Pour your free time into others' art. Read comics and novels, play video games, etc. It'll be an enjoyable way to pass time, while still building up your own skills passively.