Dealing with clingy friend

A board designated for discussion of personal issues.
Forum rules
Due to the often sensitive nature of the discussions occurring in Life Issues, we ask that you be particularly considerate and respectful toward posters here. Violation of this request will be considered a violation of the rules.

Dealing with clingy friend

Postby Twinkiesama » October 9th, 2011, 4:56 pm

I usually do not talk about my personal life on forums or with hardly anyone else for that matter. However, I feel like I need to vent somehow.
I'm a college student who has about a twelve hour "work day" which includes the commute time, studying in the computer lab, and of course, going to class. With eight hours of sleep every night, I have only have four hours of the day left. Most of that is spent eating, showering, and exercising. With only one or two hours left before I have to go to bed, I try to spend it drawing or reading comics or looking at videos on Youtube. (I'm especially found of "Let's Play series.) Also, maybe I would try to get some extra studying done. Then, around 9 pm, my friend calls me. She insists on talking with me every night and would talk for up to three hours straight if I would let her. Therefore, I always have to tell her I need to go after about thirty minutes of conversation.
Even then, I think she still spends too much time talking to me. I should be spending my precious time studying or working on my comics, which I have become very frustrated with. Last Thursday, I had a mental breakdown at school and took out my anger on a couple of on-site counselors. I later calmed down and resumed the rest of my day.
I stated recently to my friend that I will be still willing to talk to her, but only once a week. Also, I'd set a time limit on how long I would be willing to talk to her.