Manga style for the serious artist.

Discuss specific genres here. If your post fits into one of the subforums, post it there.

Manga style for the serious artist.

Postby Antitime » March 29th, 2011, 4:02 pm

Now, this is not something I'm posting to bash anime, by the way. I obviously have a huge manga influence on my style, but in that there comes a problem.

I'm a fourth-year student at art school, and my department (illustration) really gives manga artists a hard time. We get a bad rep for being lazy and uncreative, and are often told to get our 'own' style, rather than copy something popular. In illustration styles with a lot of realism, or over-simplification such as outsider art (essentially art that is made to look intentionally rough or poorly done in some cases) as well as more cartoony 'New Yorkeresque' styles, are held at a higher rank than even well-done or original mangaesque styles.

This way of thinking has honestly rubbed off on me a great deal, to the point where I have a fully-developed non-manga style and a more cartoony manga style now instead of the fusion I had before, which was easier to shrug off and label as 'anime.'

I just want to know how fellow manga enthusiasts feel about their preferred style being thought of as cheap and easy to pull off by professional illustrators. I'm not saying I agree or disagree- I have plenty of discrepancies with most manga art, but obviously I like it if I draw it. The reason this pertains to you, is that a lot of you have dreams of going on to be professionals, whether it be comic artists or illustrators or animators, when the fact of the matter is, those industries largely look down on the style.

I think there's definitely something to be learned from both sides of this argument.
The_Hankerchief wrote:Why choose when you can have 'em all? That's right, I'm talking about a Smack Jeeves Orgy!
Antitime

Re: Manga style for the serious artist.

Postby Guest » March 29th, 2011, 4:37 pm